Kelsey Pytlik
Kelsey Pytlik
May. 27, 2024
Delicious Meal!

My group of 10 had a wonderful experience with Chef Val on our vacation for my parents’ 50th wedding anniversary. We had a large menu with appetizers, soup, salad, entrees and dessert and loved it all! Chef Val was very accommodating with 3 gluten-free diners and was able to make everything we selected gluten free. We’ll definitely book him again the next time we’re in the area!

Ann-Marie Proctor
Ann-Marie Proctor
Mar. 18, 2024
We had a great time!

Val was great, the food was good, and it was a very easy and enjoyable experience. Thank you, Val!

Jessica Huffman
Jessica Huffman
Dec. 20, 2023
Wonderful Family Christmas Meal

Chef Val was absolutely amazing! From beginning to end, every course was delicious, and he was extremely accommodating, even with the little ones in our party. I would definitely use him again and highly recommend him to anyone wanting a beautiful culinary experience!

Robert Becker
Robert Becker
Nov. 26, 2023
Couples Dinner Party on Tybee Island

Our group of 4 couples had a great experience with Chef Val and his assistant Alex at our Tybee Island rental. Val’s food was outstanding. We really enjoyed the overall experience when Val presented each course to us. He provided a very thorough description of each recipe, including where the main ingredients were sourced. A few our group were skeptical of the experience going in, but walked away saying it was the highlight of our vacation. Thanks Val.

Richard Biddle
Richard Biddle
Nov. 3, 2023
Wonderful Dinner

Our family had the pleasure of working with Chef Val Domingo for the second time on a recent trip to Kiawah Island, SC. We first had Chef Val cook dinner for a group of ten adults in 2020. This time, five adults and one baby enjoyed his Coastal Dockside menu. He served us appetizers on the balcony overlooking the ocean which contributed to the costal vibe of the evening. Chef Val and his partner were professional and efficient, while taking the time to chat with our family and explain all elements of the meal. His interest in, knowledge of, and use of farm to table ingredients in his cooking is impressive and refreshing. Paella was served family style in the living room and dessert was enjoyed shortly thereafter. The food was absolutely delicious. Our family, grandparents to grandchild and everybody in between, was able to spend quality time together while enjoying a wonderful meal prepared by Chef Val. Thank you, Chef! We look forward to round three!

Cara Waldraff
Cara Waldraff
Sep. 26, 2023
Amazing!

Chef Val was so kind and the food hit the spot! We were so pleased and it was great he left leftovers 🙂

It was nice there was a crew and they even cleaned up after themselves! We are just waiting on the pictures from the social media man!

Zack Mucha
Zack Mucha
Sep. 15, 2023
Culinary Expertise and Creativity

Chef Val’s expertise and culinary creativity always comes through for us.  Rest assured that whenever he’s in the kitchen everyone is eagerly waiting the delicious meal he is preparing.  His meatball sliders are an absolute masterpiece.  Everyone was fighting over who would get the last of the flounder with his saffron mustard sauce.  And miraculously after everyone had their fill, our hunger returned for dessert.  In what can only be described as heaven on earth Val’s pecan tart will be mentioned in my obituary stating “He just wouldn’t shut up about that Pecan Tart he had in Savannah Georgia.”

Amber Argenziano
Amber Argenziano
Sep. 15, 2023
Great Team Meeting Lunch & Dinner

We recently had Chef Val prepare our team a delicious “Southern Elegance” meal for dinner. He has prepared us sandwiches and pasta salad for lunch. Everything was well prepared, very tasty and great to look at! Chef Val was very kind and would 10/10 use again! Thank you, Chef!

Anna DiMartino
Anna DiMartino
Sep. 13, 2023
Incredible Dinner

We had Chef Val cook for my friend’s bachelorette party of 14 people and he did an incredible job! He was very easy to communicate with from day 1 of booking and was friendly and kind throughout the process. The day-of, he arrived on time and his sous chef Alex even took group photos throughout the evening! As for the meal Chef Val prepared, I cannot say enough good things about it. He made Beef Tenderloin and Blackened Redfish and both got rave reviews from everyone! The meal was incredibly delicious and beautiful, and he even took time before we ate to describe the meal in detail. For dessert we got the Key Lime Tarts which were 12/10 delicious! After the meal, Chef Val and Alex cleaned up the kitchen in a jiffy. I would highly recommend Chef Val to anyone looking for an amazing meal-we couldn’t have asked for a better experience!

Ginger Carmichael
Ginger Carmichael
Aug. 3, 2023
FABULOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Chef Val was amazing on all levels! We hosted our parents 50th anniversary dinner at our home. The food was exquisite and beautifully presented. The dinner was interactive with Chef Val learning about each course and his impressive history. We also enjoyed the photo shoot with Alex which Chef Val provides as a thank you to his clients. This will be one for the books as most memorable. Thank you so very much!

Chris Sisto
Chris Sisto
Jun. 20, 2023
Perfect for Events!

Chef Val and Adam came in and did a spectacular job. We talked through the menu for my brothers bachelor party weeks before and did a great family style menu so everyone could try several items on his southern elegance menu. He had everything pretty much prepared upon arrival and brought his own serving plates and cleaned as well. Every app and entree and the dessert was top shelf and delicious. For any bachelor/bachelorette or fun event, I would highly recommend Chef Val

Lisa Hansen
Lisa Hansen
Jun. 19, 2023
Memorable evening!

We hired chef Val for our dads 70th birthday dinner. It was really special to sit down together relaxed and enjoy some delicious food. Chef Val makes the best shrimp & grits. Kitchen was spotless after, and a family photo was captured that is going in a frame!

Mindy Coulter
Mindy Coulter
May. 24, 2023
Chef Val was a hit!

With 9 foodies gathered at the beach, I was hoping my family would enjoy a night off. We were talking about hiring an in-home chef over a year ago to cook and cleanup. I am happy to say CHEF VAL HIT IT OUT OF THE PARK! The food was delicious! He and his assistant provided wonderful service! Everyone enjoyed the evening more than words can express and definitely want to get him again next year!
MIndy
Knoxville TN

Julien Tizorin
Julien Tizorin
Jan. 15, 2023
Great experience

We celebrated our 40th birthday with close friends and Chef Val did a marvelous job preparing a perfect meal for us.

Bonnie Habyan
Bonnie Habyan
Jan. 2, 2023
Wonderful evening! Delicious food!

Chef Val and his team were terrific. From the planning to execution, you can tell Chef Val is an expert. He is friendly and practices great attention to detail. The food was amazing and the process during the evening was very efficient and timely. Plus, they clean all of it up, so we were left with little to do except enjoy! I highly recommend this experience.

nancy colt
nancy colt
Dec. 13, 2022
Fabulous Dinner

Thanks to Chef Val Domingo we were able to celebrate my mother’s 94th birthday. I had 2 guest at the table that didn’t eat fish. Chef Val was able to substitute the fish for a steak for these guest. The food was amazing, with wonderful twists on the preparation. We had a couple of appetizers before dinner and they were a giant hit. When Chen Val left at the end of the evening. You would have never know a party of 10 was cooked in my kitchen. Dishes done, kitchen spotless. This is why my husband and I love Food, Fire and Knives. You can have a fabulous dinner party and actually spend time with your guests.

Laurie Looft
Laurie Looft
Oct. 9, 2022
FANTASTIC!

Chef Val prepared a fabulous meal for my family when we visited Folly Beach in October. Everything was perfectly prepared and presented. Our food was fresh and delicious. It was an outstanding meal. We also dined at a famous Charleston eatery and our group chose Chef Val’s meal as the best of our trip. Thanks for a great evening! Laurie Looft

Rachel Hill
Rachel Hill
Sep. 11, 2022
Great dinner!

We had Chef Val cook for my sister’s bachelorette party and it was perfect! Highly recommend

Kali Losby
Kali Losby
Sep. 5, 2022
Fantastic evening!

Val and his assistant were true professionals. We enjoyed a lovely meal from an experienced and knowledgeable chef who was able to accommodate several dietary restrictions, and ended with a spotless kitchen!

Emily Martin
Emily Martin
Sep. 5, 2022
Great breakfast.

Chef Val made us a great breakfast of omelets and French toast. The fresh peaches were an extremely tasty addition to the French toast and Chef Val was very enjoyable.

Kelly Nahum
Kelly Nahum
Aug. 27, 2022
Amazing!!!

Such an amazing dinner and wonderful night! Couldn’t recommend Chef Val and his team more!!

Zack Mucha
Zack Mucha
Aug. 4, 2022
Every Dish He Made was Amazing!

Val was fantastic. Every dish he made was amazing. His unbelievable skill in the kitchen is only matched by the friendly and inviting atmosphere he creates for you and your guests. I look forward to dining with him again.

Yvette Nolin
Yvette Nolin
Jul. 23, 2022
Savannah Birthday Dinner

First time in Savannah was a cool unique experience. Chef Val had some amazing dishes to try. The Snapper was super fresh. I would definitely book another dinner!

Melissa Salviolo
Melissa Salviolo
Jul. 18, 2022
AMAZING!

Chef Val was absolutely AMAZING and was our favorite part of the bachelorette weekend! Despite a broken oven in our Airbnb rental, Chef Val improvised as any great chef would and still delivered the incredible meal we were expecting! The Salute to the South menu was the perfect introduction to our weekend in Georgia and loved the descriptions and history behind each meal. Thank you so much to Chef Val for such a delicious meal and awesome experience! 10/10!

Deb Kessler
Deb Kessler
Jun. 27, 2022
Southern food from a Charleston native

Our meal from Chef Val was delicious! We appreciated his culinary expertise and his commitment to local and sustainable resources. The crab stuffed salmon was excellent, but his white chocolate bourbon caramel bread pudding was out of this world–whatever food you order from him, you must add this dessert! His assistant took photos of all the food and of our family and he sent them to us less than 2 weeks later.

AJ Jackson
AJ Jackson
Jun. 24, 2022
DELICIOUS

Chef Val is the BEST. He was on time, professional, and the food had me and my girlfriends taste buds in total bliss. Would highly recommend Chef Val and the whole experience again next time I’m in the SC/GA area

Catie Lane Bailey
Catie Lane Bailey
Jun. 21, 2022
Highly Recommend!

Our dinner was an exceptional experience! Chef Domingo and his team went above and beyond to ensure our evening was memorable and seamless. They were so kind to make our 6 year old feel important and included. The food exceeded our expectations in every way – taste, presentation, and portion sizes! The White Chocolate Banana Bread Pudding is a must. We highly recommend Chef Domingo and look forward to working with him again!

Deborah Hanson
Deborah Hanson
May. 31, 2022
Chef Val serves up on Memorial Day!

Chef Val arrived promptly and well prepared. We had a fun time watching him as he created our family dinner and really enjoyed each course. We had two young children who were treated with special care. The food was presented artistically and piping hot. Would highly recommend.

Leanne Whalen
Leanne Whalen
May. 31, 2022
FANTASTIC!

Review of Val – Food Fire and knives

Our celebration of my Husband’s birthday evening was a huge success thanks to Chef Val. The moment I reserved the dinner, Val was there to discuss menu choices and options, adjusting to preferences and putting me at ease. I had never hired a private chef and he patiently walked me through what the evening would hold. He checked in with me several times before the date. On time, prepared, organized, personable and obviously extremely talented is the best way to describe him. We had the opportunity to observe and engage or just sit back with a glass of wine as Val worked his magic. We did a bit of both. He brought a helper, Alex who was also very friendly, worked hard in the background and took some great pictures. Our menu included a pecan encrusted grouper that was amazing. A favorite was the truffled mushroom bisque. I appreciated the local sourcing of ingredients. We will definitely hire Chef Val again when we return to the Charleston area. Thanks Chef!!!

Sarah Howard
Sarah Howard
May. 16, 2022
Chef Val is Amazing!

Our group had such a phenomenal experience with Chef Val and his team of pro’s for our private dinner! We chose the Lemongrass Buddha and it was delicious! They were timely, professional, fun and incredible at what they do. It was absolutely effortless and we would highly recommend!

Kathryn Salerno
Kathryn Salerno
May. 9, 2022
Kay’s Last Disco with Chef Val

Chef Val and his crew were amazing!!! They arrived on time and had everything prepared so fast. The food was DELICIOUS and everything was well explained. They took pictures for us and were so friendly. Very happy they were part of my bachelorette celebration!

Stefanie Krasic
Stefanie Krasic
May. 5, 2022
Delicious Meal

Chef Val cooked us a very delicious meal for a bachelorette night in! The ingredients were locally sourced and very fresh. The dessert (white chocolate banana bread pudding) was especially great!

Janet Aiello
Janet Aiello
May. 4, 2022
Our dining experience was absolutely phenomenal!

Just had to write a review on Chef Val Domingo and his crew!! Our dining experience was absolutely phenomenal. Was simply touched that Chef Val and his crew drove 4 hours to make our night so very special. As he arrived to our home, he introduced himself and his crew, then immediately went to work cooking for all of us and filled the kitchen with an amazing aroma. Highly recommend the salmon and also the pork chops, never in my life to have the pork chops so juicy, tender and so full of flavor. For the final treat, the desserts were so yummy. you have to have his prize winner “ bread pudding”, it’s definitely a “must have”. So don’t forget to add that as your dessert, you’ll see what I mean “delish”. Thanks again Chef Val Domingo😁

Debra MacDonald
Debra MacDonald
May. 4, 2022
Incredible Evening

Chef Val traveled all the way out to Pawley’s Island for a 60th birthday celebration dinner. From the day we made the reservation he was in touch helping us to coordinate a fabulous menu. I had never hired a private chef before so his guidance was much appreciated. We chose the lumpia and sliders for appetizers. Both were delicious but the lumpia were the best any of us had ever had. Spinach salad was light and perfect. For entrees we had the bourbon brined pork and the salmon with risotto. Both so delicious and plating was beautiful. Everyone raving about how amazing the food was. Do not miss the banana bread pudding for dessert. It was so delicious! We had one vegan in the group and Chef Val put together a sweet potato app and a stir fry entree that he loved. Chef Val and his team arrived with everything they needed and no one had to lift a finger. He was personable and took the time to explain every dish as it came out. All we had to do was sit back and enjoy the fabulous food. Thank you Chef Val for making our first personal chef experience one we will never forget!

Megan Souls
Megan Souls
Apr. 14, 2022
Family Dinner

We had a great time with Chef Val! The food was excellent! My family really enjoyed talking with Chef Val and having a stress free evening at home. Thank you Chef!

Katherine
Katherine
Apr. 12, 2022
Delicious and fun!

Chef Val was super kind and efficient! We loved absolutely everything we ate. Cannot recommend this enough!

Greg Abbott
Greg Abbott
Apr. 12, 2022
Great experience

Chef Val provided an amazing experience for our group. Awesome food, and easy conversation. Would recommend and book again!

Judi Donofrio
Judi Donofrio
Apr. 8, 2022
Wonderful Experience

What a wonderful experience getting to work with Chef Val! He prepared a lovely and delicious 3-course meal for our group of 12 of us celebrating milestone birthdays. He was professional from the very beginning of my reservation. He contacted me personally to inquire about the menu we selected, called with reminders, and was on time and well prepared to cook for all of us. Several members of the group enjoyed spending time with him while he cooked. He shared several of his cooking secrets with us that I am sure we will use in our own kitchens. He was also eager to share at least one of his recipes with us. His assistant was also very professional and captured every moment of the wonderful evening on camera. I would highly recommend Chef Val and Food Fire and Knives. I thought that this would be a once-in-a-lifetime experience but have plans to do this again!

Gina Krueger
Gina Krueger
Mar. 29, 2022
Chef Val Was Amazing!

Chef Val came out to our Air BnB this past weekend for a bachelorette party – and he did not disappoint! He was communicative and informative from the original point of contact, all the way until he left the house! His crew who helped him out were also phenomenal.

Not only was Chef a pleasure to work with, but his food was also amazing! He had everyone’s steaks prepared to perfection, and his appetizer, salad course, and dessert were absolutely delicious!

BOOK CHEF VAL!!!!!

Elizabeth Howard
Elizabeth Howard
Mar. 29, 2022
Best Chef in SC!

Chef Val was so easy to work with and made the planning and selection process a breeze. Him and his staff were so friendly and patient with a large group like ours (14 girls). The food was so delicious and the dessert was so good, I don’t think I’ve ever had anything better!! Definitely hire Chef Val and you MUST get the banana bread pudding dessert!

Sarah Robinson
Sarah Robinson
Mar. 27, 2022
Such a great experience!

Chef Val was absolutely wonderful. He was so accommodating and easily handled a last minute schedule change from us. His food was incredible, and we can’t wait to use him again!

Sara Velie
Sara Velie
Mar. 17, 2022
Food was delicious!

We ordered Salute to the South

Brittany Kelly
Brittany Kelly
Mar. 5, 2022
Great evening!

Chef Val was awesome. Very professional. The food was delicious. Bride was SO happy. Thank you so nuch

Jessica T
Jessica T
Feb. 28, 2022
Great Night!

Had a great night with Chef Val! Would absolutely book again and recommend him for anyone looking for a private chef experience. Request the crab bisque if you can, it was fabulous!

Sara Klock
Sara Klock
Feb. 26, 2022
Chef Val nailed it

Chef Val and Alex filled in for Chef Tharren, and delivered us an exceptional meal. 10/10 recommend

John Akerman
John Akerman
Dec. 11, 2021
Old friends, Outstanding food, Forever memories

On our final evening of a reunion of our best friends, we decided to try Food, Fire and Knives and have personal chef, Val Domingo prepare our dinner. It was, without doubt, the best meal we have had together in our 40+ years of dining together. Chef Val and his team covered every detail of the evening. Not only was the food outstanding, he took the time to share details about the each course including how he chose local farms and vendors to procure the groceries. It was true highlight of our time together and an experience we will remember forever. Thank you!

Lindsay Naylor
Lindsay Naylor
Nov. 29, 2021
Surpassed all expectations!

An amazing experience all around! The website made ordering easy and efficient, Chef Val was incredible to work with and the food was absolutely stellar! From the superb quality of all the ingredient’s to Chef Val’s beautiful presentation, it was a night we will not soon forget!

We couldn’t have asked for a better experience from start to delicious finish!

Lisa K
Lisa K
Nov. 26, 2021
Best meal this year!

Chef Val was personable, funny, and served up a great meal!! Our steaks were cooked to medium perfection. 👌 Thank you, Chef for your overall great service.

Roberta Morrissey
Roberta Morrissey
Oct. 7, 2021
Delicious and entertaining evening

Chef Val’s filet mignon dinner for 6 was prepared to perfection. It was such a treat to watch him work in my kitchen and have 6 perfectly cooked to order filets come out on time. The roasted sides were also wonderful, Thank you chef !

Helen Connor
Helen Connor
Sep. 21, 2021
Wonderful vacation dinner!

We had a lovely family dinner with Chef Val and his team. The food was so delicious and the service was impeccable. Our favorites were the pimento cheese stuffed okra and the dark chocolate creme brûlée. Couldn’t have been easier to book, and the team took care of the rest. It was wonderful!

Madeline Hutchinson
Madeline Hutchinson
Aug. 12, 2021
Great service + great food

We had a great time with Chef Val for our bachelorette dinner. His food was amazing and we really enjoyed having his team as part of our weekend. The bread pudding was the best thing most of us have EVER eaten. Highly recommend Chef Val for your next party!

Dana Daniels
Dana Daniels
Aug. 6, 2021
Delicious!

Chef Val was amazing. His food was delicious. We do wish the appetizer and entree portions were a little bit bigger!

Krista Hauk
Krista Hauk
Jun. 22, 2021
Delicious!

Val and his team were awesome. We booked him for a friend’s bachelorette. The food was amazing. The presentation was impeccable. We loved the experience and would highly recommend him.

Drew Tardy
Drew Tardy
Jun. 4, 2021

Chef Val was fantastic to work with . He contacted us ahead of time and was able to accommodate all of our dietary restrictions. He presented each dish in both an educational and professional manner. All of our guests were clients and they enjoyed a first class experience and delicious food. His bread pudding is the best I have ever had.

Madison Palmer
Madison Palmer
May. 19, 2021
ABSOLUTELY YES TO VAL

It was an absolute treat having Chef Val as our private Chef for my sisters bachelorette! He was so attentive and making sure that everything was perfect, communicated well, and setup seamlessly. We had the arugula salad, tuna, and beef dishes. They were all incredible and probably the best tuna I have ever had. He made sure that everything was fresh and local. He even made a switch to the salad because he couldn’t find fresh peaches, so he wanted to ensure fresh strawberries would be okay. He was the highlight of our trip. I would highly recommend him for any occasion. We are so lucky to have found him!

Kasey Gennett
Kasey Gennett
Apr. 25, 2021
Perfect treat for a bride!

We loved our brunch with Chef Val! Val cooked a delicious French toast and bacon brunch for 10 girls in the house we rented for a bachelorette weekend on Kiawah Island. The experience let us relax and let our bride (and us) feel pampered! I’d highly recommend this service and I would definitely use Chef Val again if I ever get the opportunity!

Liz Musser
Liz Musser
Apr. 16, 2021

This was my first time booking with Food Fire + Knives and experiencing a private chef. The service was unmatched. The staff truly cares about your experience from beginning to end. From picking the menu to scheduling, everything was a breeze. We scheduled for a bachelorette brunch with 11 girls in Folly Beach, SC. Chef Val and his staff were on time and professional. The food is absolutely amazing – everything we tasted melted in our mouths.
Do yourself a favor and book your next private chef with Food Fire + Knives (Chef Val!!) They will not let you down!

Natasha Jackson
Natasha Jackson
Apr. 5, 2021
Amazing!

The food was absolutely amazing and cooked to perfection! Chef Val was very professional and well prepared.

Magnus Mortensen
Magnus Mortensen
Jan. 3, 2021
Birthday Dinner on 1/2/21

This was a fantastic experience – Chef Val & Abigail were amazing. They cooked dinner for us and four of our friends (six people total). The food was delicious and we were also impressed with their Covid precautions. Couldn’t have asked for a better evening. We highly recommend Chef Val for your next special event – five stars!

Tina Kurzner
Tina Kurzner
Dec. 27, 2020
Delicious!

Excellent all around!

Sarah Pounders
Sarah Pounders
Dec. 12, 2020
Amazing Food and Experience

Chef Val came to my home to cook a 3 course meal and it was AMAZING! He is an absolute professional and called me ahead of time to let me know what to expect. He called again the day of the event to verify the time. He arrived promptly and it was great to learn why he chose particular ingredients and understand his preparation. The meal was one of the top 10 meals I have eaten in my life. The portions were an excellent size and it was gourmet without being pretentious. To me the food was beautifully presented, tasted delicious and had high quality ingredients. Ask me would I do it again? YES.

Kelly Fleming
Kelly Fleming
Oct. 18, 2020
The perfect vacation chef

We hired Chef Val for our week long vacation in Hilton head island and his dinners (and brunch) made for the perfect dining set up! We were able to enjoy our days at the beach or pool and come back to amazing and delicious 3 and 4 course dinners nightly. It was restaurant quality food without the hassle of eating out! Chef Val made sure we were relaxed, had fun and well fed! Highly recommend him as your vacation chef!

Kerry Kenny
Kerry Kenny
Oct. 7, 2020

Chef Val and his team prepared a wonderful meal for me and my family this past holiday weekend. From the crab bisque, tuna tostadas, oyster rockefellers, seared ahi tuna, shrimp & grits to the wonderful desserts-everything was fantastic! Highly recommended Chef Val for anyone wanting a delicious food experience right in your own home. They not only bring all the food but they clean everything up as well!! Highly recommend Chef Val- we will be using him again.

HEATHER BRYSON
HEATHER BRYSON
Sep. 14, 2020
Flawless

Chef Val was amazing at every level. Quality of food, communication, timeliness during the event. Will most certainly hire him again. My clients and I are very culinarily driven and we were impressed.

Richard Biddle
Richard Biddle
Sep. 12, 2020
Great evening with Chef Val

Chef Val made our birthday celebration on Kiawah Island memorable….presentation was great; his stories engaging and everyone enjoyed our special three-course meal.
Highest recommendation for Chef Val.

Teylor Uba-oyibo
Teylor Uba-oyibo
Sep. 3, 2020
Chef Val was the best part of our beach weekend!

Hiring Chef Val was a great decision for our group while we stayed on Tybee Island for a private dinner party. He was super flexible and arrived at our agreed start time. He came prepared with all his tools and his mask (huge plus during these unknown covid times). His food was delicious and fresh. Our group was very satisfied and loved every course he prepared for us! Chef Val was also very personable and friendly. I highly recommend hiring Chef Val for your next private dinner party!

Tia Jeffress
Tia Jeffress
Aug. 11, 2020
Absolutely Amazing!!

The entire experience was amazing! From the pre-consultation, to the arrival, to the prep, to the serving, and cleaning up. The chef and his sous chef did an amazing job preparing and presenting the food. Everything was so flavorful! The first bite was orgasmic! I highly recommend the chef and the experience. We surprised a friend for her 40th bday and he made her night as well as ours. Thank you again for such an amazing experience!

Jaclyn Ott
Jaclyn Ott
Jul. 24, 2020

Chef Val prepared a wonderful dinner with appetizers, seafood paella, and dessert with creme brûlée and lemon tart. Loved it all – recommend the guacamole and southern style oysters Rockefeller. Look forward to doing it next time we are back in Charleston.

Mike Bond
Mike Bond
Jul. 19, 2020
Birthday Dinner with Chef Val

We had a wonderful experience with Chef Val and his assistant, Abigail. The entire evening was beyond our expectations. They handled everything from start to finish and the meal was absolutely delicious! Clearly, Chef Val takes a great deal of pride in his craft and we couldn’t have been happier with the results. What a perfect gift for my wife on her birthday! We’ll definitely use FF&K and Chef Val again for other, upcoming celebrations. Thanks so much!

Gayle Lancto
Gayle Lancto
Jul. 6, 2020
Fantastic

We loved Chef Val
We’ll definitely use him again

Gayle Lancto
Gayle Lancto
Jul. 6, 2020
Our first of three!

We booked Chef Val for three catered meals
11 guests (2 were vegan and 1 had a soy allergy)
He accommodated the various diets beautifully

Gayle Lancto
Gayle Lancto
Jul. 6, 2020
Amazing

That was so much fun!
Chef Val was very cordial and, of course, talented

Gayle Lancto
Gayle Lancto
Jul. 3, 2020

Amazing food with an Asian twist and super fun people. Val was great, outgoing and would definitely recommend to anyone who wants a catered meal. They came to our house in Sullivan’s island, SC were prompt, clean and efficient!

Christopher Sullivan
Christopher Sullivan
Jul. 1, 2023
Tasty yet efficient

Val’s menu was well sorted. We started with a bright, fresh salad followed by entrees with thoughtfully sourced ingredients. The flounder was dry but the crab filling had good depth of flavor. The steak was peppery but cooked to perfection. Dessert was delicious. Significant prep and was done ahead of the chef’s arrival, which was good in that it limited disruption of the guests. Clean-up was done fast and well.

Linda Rosenkilde
Linda Rosenkilde
Dec. 9, 2021
Savannah 2021 girl’s trip

We really enjoyed our first private chef experience. Val was very friendly and professional. Everything was delicious and the evening was a success. Thank you for a wonderful evening

Erin Schuster
Erin Schuster
Oct. 11, 2021
A little underwhelmed

Val was very communicative and accommodating as we were planning for our dinner. We were able to mix and match apps from various offerings. The total experience was just under an hour and a half with 14 people (we didn’t have a dessert). Although the chef and his team were very nice and accommodating, we did feel very rushed, the portions sizes differed from person to person, and a lot of folks had undercooked steak for the main entree. Although it wasn’t necessarily a bad experience, we were definitely a bit underwhelmed.


How to Hire a Private Chef for Your Event

  • Pick a place, date, and time.
  • Select your chef and menu. (Each chef offers different menus which are fully a la carte. Simply choose the dishes you want for your occasion.)
  • Add details like the number of guests and any special instructions.
  • Pay for your reservation. Make any changes or even cancel up to a week before your event for a refund.
  • After you’ve made a reservation, the private chef you’ve hired will reach out within 48 hours to confirm the details and coordinate their arrival.
  • If you’ve added any special dietary restrictions or event instructions, they’ll work with you to implement those.
  • Your chef will arrive with everything they need, including ingredients, cooking equipment, and cleaning supplies. All you have to do is sit back, relax, and enjoy the day with your guests.
  • The cleanup is included too! Hire a private chef with us and know that we’ll likely leave your kitchen cleaner than when you gave it to us.

Our Top FAQs

1. Can I customize the menu?

Absolutely! All our menus are fully a la carte. Once you’ve decided on a chef, you’ll see a list of all the dishes they offer and you can choose the ones you’d like for your event.

2. How is your service priced?

You pay a fixed price per guest based on your menu, plus a small, all-inclusive booking fee to our platform. You’ll be able to see exactly what you’re paying when you make a booking. No hidden costs, ever.

3. How many guests can I invite?

As many as you like! Although for events with over 30 people, we ask that you reach out to us to make an event inquiry.

4. My group has multiple dietary restrictions

That’s absolutely fine! When finalizing your menu, please mention these under ‘Special Instructions.’ For instance, you can specify that you’d like to accommodate one vegan guest and one gluten-free guest for your at-home catering and your private chef will prepare suitable dish variants for those guests.

5. Can I make changes to the menu or guest list?

Yes! You can make any changes to your booking. You can even cancel it up to a week before your event, and you’ll receive a refund.

6. Is my event insured?

Yes, it is. Our service includes full insurance for your private chef in case of any mishaps.

7. How are the Chefs chosen?

Each chef is fully vetted. We require at minimum one year of sous chef experience. Your chef has gone through an FCRA compliant background check and multiple interviews before joining our platform.

8. What is FFKs cancellation and refund policy?

We take pre-payment to secure your chef and simplify our service. No fumbling with payments after your event or dealing with multiple payments in different stages of the process. Much like our service, our return policy is simple and meant to protect you, our hosts and our amazing Chefs.
  • One week or more before your event we guarantee your refund.
  • During the week of your event we offer a 50% refund.
  • We will not be able to refund within 48 hours of your event. At this point your chef has not been available for other parties and has already planned for your event. *Please note all refunds are less processing and booking fees