Mark Gierla
Mark Gierla
May. 26, 2024
Excellent dinner experience in Charleston

Aside from the delicious dinner he prepared for our group Chef Ed and his assistant Helen were personable and fun. I spoke and messaged with him a few times before our event and he accommodated all of our requests. I have booked private chefs before and this was top tier. If you’re looking for a chef in Charleston you want Ed!

Emma Bonham
Emma Bonham
Apr. 7, 2024
Great food and company!

We had such a fun time and Chef Ed’s food was delicious! Would 100% recommend having him join you!

Carolyn Sue Allen
Carolyn Sue Allen
Nov. 5, 2023
8 Sisters take Folly Beach!!

This was our first experience with Food Fire and Knives and we could not have chosen a better chef! Chef Ed was every bit the professional and prepared our selections with the freshest ingredients. The portions were plentiful and we had a difficult time finishing everything. I would highly recommend this experience to anyone.

Elizabeth Dulaney
Elizabeth Dulaney
Sep. 26, 2023
10/10 Recommend!

Chef Ed Renken made some amazing food for our bachelorette group. But not only that, he made us laugh and let us be our crazy selves in front of him! We had the best time and it was way better and more memorable than going out somewhere to dinner.

Todd Leger
Todd Leger
Sep. 26, 2023
Fantastic Food and Service!!!

It was my wife’s 60th birthday and I thought it would be fun to hire a chef to prepare our dinner for us, including our family. Chef Ed Renken and his sous chef Mary did an amazing job. The food was superb, and they just made the evening more enjoyable with their personalities and the way they interacted with our family. I would highly recommend them to anyone! Great Evening!

Kristina Swetnam
Kristina Swetnam
Sep. 18, 2023
Caroline cuisine

We had a great dinner. Chef Ed was very easy to work with and helped us create a unique menu that everyone enjoyed. We loved his crab cakes, shrimp and grits and key lime pie!!!

Emmy Welsh
Emmy Welsh
Jun. 13, 2023
Thank you, Chef Ed!!

Working with Chef Ed was so easy! We had to make a few changes to the menu and he was happy to make the substitutions. His food was inventive & creative, while remaining classic. Our guests enjoyed his personality & conversation as much as the meal!

Michael Jarmusik
Michael Jarmusik
Feb. 15, 2023
Always a Treat!

If you could guarantee yourself an amazingly unique culinary journey around the world, filled with great stories and amazing conversation, book Chef Ed. He’s become our favorite chef and he brings a 5* meal made from scratch that leaves you amazed every time. After having Ed’s version of a BLT you won’t look at a traditional BLT ever again. Any protein you choose he makes turns into perfection. I wish he’d jar his French onion soup for sale, I’d by it by the case. I can’t say enough great stuff about Ed!

Kelly Crump
Kelly Crump
Dec. 10, 2022
Perfect

Everything went smoothly from start to finish! The food was amazing, especially the She Crab soup!
Chef and helper cleaned up and were efficient in their use of time. Chef also described each course and was a delight to have in our home.
I would definitely recommend Chef Ed!!!
A five star experience!!

Molly Kaufman
Molly Kaufman
Oct. 10, 2022
Would recommend 100 times 🙂

Chef Ed was amazing!!!! Our dinner was so very delicious and we were talking about the mashed potatoes for the rest of the night! His energy was so fun and he made our last night in Charleston so unforgettable !

Brenda Durden
Brenda Durden
Sep. 27, 2022
Chef Renken was amazing!

Our experience could not have been better. Our group enjoys very nice restaurants in Charleston and our dinner with the Chef was just as good if not better! Do not miss the opportunity to have him come in to prepare a meal for family, friends, corporate group. He will not disappoint. Food, service, willingness to meet multiple special requests all done with a smile and executed perfectly. We will definitely be return customers!!! Many thanks for an exceptional experience.

Jamie Hahl
Jamie Hahl
Sep. 12, 2022
Highly recommend!

We went to Isle of Palms for a week with four families and nine total children ages 3 and under so we treated ourselves to a Parents Night In with Chef Ed Renken. Ed was wonderful and the food was delicious. We will definitely be having him back on our next vacation!

Jamie Stevens
Jamie Stevens
Sep. 9, 2022
Ed was absolutely wonderful!

The food was delicious, he cleaned up after he was done, and made jokes and really interacted with our group of girls. He remained professional and so very kind. We loved having Ed as part of our Bachelorette celebration, and would without a doubt book with him again if we ever decide to book an at home chef again

Emily Martin
Emily Martin
Sep. 5, 2022
Great addition to bachelorette weekend

Chef Ed was a great addition to our bachelorette weekend! The food was incredible and we all talked about the butter “nut” me up soup for the entire trip. Chef Ed’s personality also made our night and we enjoyed his conversation and his jokes. I definitely recommend Chef Ed.

Josh Greenberg
Josh Greenberg
Aug. 2, 2022
Chef Ed Rocked Our 28-Person Bachelor Party

I hired Chef Ed Renken through Food Fire + Knives for a private dinner for joint bachelor party of 28 people. Chef Ed and his team knocked it out of the park! We started with roasted artichoke hearts in a butter, white wine, and tomato sauce on crostini, followed by a choice of steak with chimichurri and mashed potatoes or shrimp and grits with peppadew and banana peppers and andouille sausage and ended with a choice of banana pudding and luxardo cherry brownies. The food was fantastic, and our friends were talking about the food (and eating leftovers) for days! Over the course of the night, I had heard that nearly every single menu item—from the artichokes to the chimichurri to the grits to the banana pudding and brownie—was the best that a person had ever had. It made for a memorable experience. Chef Ed was so accommodating of our three guests with Celiac and made almost the entire meal gluten-free and you would have never known. I shopped around before hiring Food Fire + Knives and I can confidently say that they were the best value and delivered an extraordinarily enjoyable experience. Chef Ed and his team, as well as the staff at Food Fire + Knives, were very friendly and great to work with and I would recommend them hands down.

Nicole Deley
Nicole Deley
Jul. 21, 2022
Food was absolutely delicious!
I hired Ed to cook for 25 people..food was absolutely delicious! They efficiently cooked and cleaned and it was worth every penny!
Lindsey Sirju
Lindsey Sirju
Jul. 21, 2022
Highly recommend!

Ed communicated well via e-mail prior to the event (bachelorette dinner) and arrived on time. The food was incredible! Portion sizes are very generous and the conversation Ed provides about the flavors and textures of the foods was a nice touch. He and Chef Drew tidy the kitchen after they were done and it was cleaner than when they arrived. Highly recommend!

Dionna Hill
Dionna Hill
Jun. 27, 2022
Worth Every Penny

Chef Ed was amazing and the food that he prepared was delicious from the mixed green salad with the Dijon mustard vinaigrette, oven baked snapper on a bed of Caribbean peas and rice with the pineapple salsa, down to the peach and blueberry cobbler. Everything was delicious and worth every penny. Our whole experience from the Airbnb to the motorboat ride was a great experience. Will definitely be booking Chef Ed again.

Tara Mahoney
Tara Mahoney
Jun. 21, 2022
Bachelorette Party

Ed did an awesome job creating a delicious dinner for 20 ladies for a bachelorette party. Scheduling was super easy as was making changes to head count and menu as we got closer to the date of the event. The food was amazing, and Ed was on time, got the food out perfectly as planned and cleaned up the entire place so it was spick and span. Super easy way to enjoy a night in with delicious, customizable food!

Lily Durkin
Lily Durkin
Jun. 16, 2022
Our food was AMAZING

Chef Ed is the best! Our food was AMAZING. They settled right into the kitchen of our Airbnb and needed no direction. Just started cooking away which we loved so we could be hands off while we had our happy hour. We had a bachelorette party with 11 people and all had great things to say about the food and commentary. Next time we are in Charleston we will certainly be looking to get a meal from Chef Ed one way or another. (: 10/10 chef!!!

Danielle Zazaian
Danielle Zazaian
Jun. 12, 2022
BOOK Ed TODAY!

You will not regret booking Ed for your bach party! was given his name by a recommendation from a friend and it was the best meal we had all weekend! We did the chicken marsala and vegetarian meals as well as a salad and dessert. 100% worth every penny!

PJ Riley
PJ Riley
Jun. 9, 2022
We love Him!

Chef Ed could not have been more accommodating and we love him! From our initial connection to his arrival at the house he strived to make sure we got exactly what we were looking for. We were celebrating a 60th Birthday; in planning the menu we had a few issues like shellfish allergies and Chef Ed was so flexible with menu options. Dinner was prepared and served with perfect grace, it was such a pleasure to have Chef Ed we just wish he lived closer to us.

Rachel Feinman
Rachel Feinman
Jun. 7, 2022
Chef Ed was Amazing

Chef Ed was amazing- couldn’t recommend more! He came to cook for my best friend’s bachelorette party, which unfortunately the girls’ original flight got cancelled. Ed still came, cooked an amazing meal, and plated it all for the girls to eat when they finally got here. He was so sweet and caring, and cooked a delicious meal! We still had a great time even though it was a small party. Thanks again for everything Ed!

Deborah Hanson
Deborah Hanson
Jun. 6, 2022
Italian family feast

Chef Ed was a delight! The food was delicious and we enjoyed his company while he was preparing and serving our meal. Our young granddaughters were big fans too. He even left us with extra lasagna! Thank you for a memorable last evening in Isle of Palms.

Brittany Andring
Brittany Andring
May. 31, 2022
Amazing

Chef Ed and his team were amazing and professional with great personalities from start to finish and the food was AMAZING. It was so nice that they just came to our Airbnb, whipped up dinner, cleaned and everything! I absolutely 1000% recommend booking with him for any occasion.

Sheryl Light
Sheryl Light
May. 29, 2022
Carolina Cuisine

We celebrated our last vacation meal and our father’s 80th birthday having Chef Ed cook for us. He also brought a helper Kyle. Both were professional and the food was great. 15 Adults. We enjoyed the menu, especially the cobbler for dessert. We would recommend Ed and this website again. It was so easy!

Land Wright
Land Wright
May. 16, 2022
Perfect Ending to Our Full Day

Chef Ed and his team exceeded all expectations for our golf group of 16! The food, presentation, and service was beyond first class. It was the perfect ending to our full day of golf and everything was taken care of. Each course was delicious and perfectly planned out and the kitchen fully cleaned up before they left. Whenever we come back to Kiawah for another trip we will definitely be giving Ed a call! Thank you again!!

Melanie Notarstefano
Melanie Notarstefano
May. 9, 2022
Chef Ed is the best!!!!

Chef Ed hosted my friend’s bachelorette party dinner to kick off our weekend and he did not disappoint! Each of his courses tasted amazing (especially the tuna – WOW!) and the presentation was on point! He talked us through each of his dishes thoughtfully and we really appreciated his company. Chef Ed is the best!!!!

Eileen McDonald
Eileen McDonald
May. 9, 2022
Cannot praise Chef Ed enough!

All of the courses he made for us were delicious, and it was so fun to learn about the recipes and pick his brain re: all things food related. From start to finish it was such a great time, you 100% have to book Chef Ed for any private dinner you are hosting!

MARILYN DALY
MARILYN DALY
Apr. 24, 2022
Truly Wonderful Experience!!

The 3rd time’s a charm! We tried to do a family dinner with Chef Ed twice. The 1st time we had to cancel due to COVID. The 2nd time Chef Ed was totally booked. We finally achieved our goal of a family dinner right before Easter and it was worth the wait! We had a truly wonderful experience in the comfort of our own home. Chef Ed is an amazing chef and was so accommodating to our family’s tastes and food allergies. His buttermilk pie is to die for and is now a fan favorite! Thanks, Ed!! We look forward to planning more group dinners with you in the future.

Madeline Boylen
Madeline Boylen
Apr. 18, 2022
Can’t recommend his services enough!

Chef Ed cooked a DELICIOUS meal for my cousin’s bachelorette party. We were not an easy group to accommodate, and he did it with ease and expertise!

Ryan Baughman
Ryan Baughman
Mar. 29, 2022
Great work sir!

Ed was great from start to finish in the process. I requested an item for his BBQ that wasn’t listed on the menu. He responded quickly that he could accommodate the side dish I wanted. He was thorough in his responses and left me with no questions. I highly recommend Ed for a private chef experience. Great work sir!

Grace Czechowski
Grace Czechowski
Mar. 15, 2022
Best Wedding Food Ever!

Chef Ed and Helen were absolutely amazing! They were incredibly accommodating and made our special day 10 times better! People could not stop raving about the food! We would hire Chef Ed again in a heartbeat!

Jennifer Thunhorst
Jennifer Thunhorst
Mar. 7, 2022
Amazing food & service!

Chef Ed is amazing! We had him come to our Charleston VRBO for my sister’s bachelorette party (9 girls total) and we had the best night. Our tour earlier in the day was running a little late, so Chef Ed got to the house before we did, but he was so understanding and made it clear that he was on our time. Once the cooking started, us girls continued the celebrations and Chef Ed just told us once the food was on the table. Highly recommend for a bachelorette night in!

Devan Trenkamp
Devan Trenkamp
Feb. 22, 2022
Great experience and delicious dinner

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner prepared by Chef Ed. He was very personable and the dinner went off without a hitch. He even brought a perfectly themed surprise dessert for after dinner! We will definitely use him again when we go back to Charleston. Thanks, Chef Ed!

Stevie Weir
Stevie Weir
Feb. 14, 2022
Highlight of our Trip!

This is the second time Chef Ed has been the absolute highlight of our Mother-Daughter trip! His food is SO delicious & he creates the best experience. His Seared scallops were to die for, definitely my favorite part of the meal. The portions were huge & we had plenty for leftovers the next day. He is easy to communicate with & happily made the substitutions we requested. We arranged for Chef Ed to come the first night of our trip so we could sit back & relax & have a gourmet meal brought right to us! It was a great plan! He was awesome w our little dogs, too. Any time we come to Charleston we will be calling on Chef Ed to cook us up something we’ll never forget. & the best part is he leaves the kitchen even cleaner than he found it!

Michael Jarmusik
Michael Jarmusik
Feb. 12, 2022
Wife loved it!

I wanted to do something different for my wife than the usual take her out for a nice dinner. I booked Chef Ed for the Fine Dining at Home menu and it was awesome from start to finish! Both of us felt it was the best steak we’ve ever had (and we’ve had a lot of great ones), incredible French onion soup, delectable dessert. All with wonderful conversation. Go for something different, not the same old, same old…book Chef Ed. You’ll thank me later.

Fran Hayes
Fran Hayes
Jan. 29, 2022
Birthday Dinner

Ed was fantastic! He was on time, prepared and the most important the food was fantastic!

Thanks Ed! We will definitely do this again!

nancy colt
nancy colt
Dec. 3, 2021
Absolutely A One

Chef Ed and his assistant, Drew, were amazing as ever. This is one of many meals they have done for us over the years. If you want a great experience with a dinner party, This is the Ticket! The food is fabulous. You don’t have any clean up. Chef Ed and Drew washed every piece of China and put it away. When they left our home, you would have never known anyone was cooking for a large group in that kitchen. The appetizers are fabulous and was the dinner. This is the only way I like to entertain for special events. Make your party a fun one with out you having to be the cook.

Betty Benson
Betty Benson
Oct. 28, 2021
An Evening to Remember

Ed was an absolute delight and professional. He thoughtfully curated our Fine Dining at Home experience to celebrate a big event for our friend. The woman could not stop RAVING about each course and every bite. I felt like I went to heaven in this experience! I cannot wait to plan another event and work with Ed again!

Greg Piatek
Greg Piatek
Oct. 20, 2021

Our experience with Ed was great. His food was delicious and the whole experience was really special. Ed came to our Kiawah trip house and communicated promptly through the moment he arrived. He even took care of our special requests/menu changes. The food was awesome- we loved everything, but particularly the Tuna Tartare, Quail, and Ribeyes. Top notch from appetizer to dessert. Would 100% recommend him to anyone in the Charleston area. Experience could not have been better. Thanks Ed!

Sarah OShaughnessy
Sarah OShaughnessy
Sep. 21, 2021

Chef Ed and Chef Dan were so nice and accommodating. I would highly recommended them – the local food was so delicious, and everyone loved it! They even included a fun surprise for the bride in our group that we were celebrating.

Jordan Burks
Jordan Burks
Sep. 20, 2021

Chef Ed and his partner were great. The food was incredible and they were super professional and personable! I would recommend them to anyone!!

Chase Smith
Chase Smith
Sep. 20, 2021

Chef Renken was amazing! The food was absolutely incredible. He cooked for 15 guys at a bachelor party, set up the food, cleaned everything up, and then packed up all of the leftovers in tins and then put them in the fridge. Would recommend to absolutely anybody.

tabitha torres
tabitha torres
Aug. 18, 2021

Chef Ed Renken was amazing! On top of cooking us a delicious meal he was extremely personable and made sure we had a great time. I highly recommend and would definitely hire him again! Thanks chef!

Elizabeth Bunch
Elizabeth Bunch
Aug. 18, 2021

Chef Ed was amazing in every way. He was engaging and his food was phenomenal. 10/10 would recommend!

abby thorsgaard
abby thorsgaard
Aug. 18, 2021

Chef Ed and the meal he cooked for our group of 16 was the highlight of our weekend. The food was incredible (so much variety and flavor, and the presentation was amazing!) We didn’t have to lift a finger- him and his team did all the setup, cleanup, and everything in between. He was extremely easy to communicate with upfront with menu planning (he completely customized the meal just for us) and accommodated a few serious food allergies. The night exceeded our expectations and I would recommend him to any group!

Jessica Shields
Jessica Shields
Jun. 23, 2021
Delicious meal by Chef Ed!

Food was amazing, 4 course meal was delicious, authentic, the experience was unmatched with brief history and culinary explanations as the meal. There was no set up or clean up on our part, Chef Ed took care of everything. Would give our highest recommendation!

Loyce Bryan
Loyce Bryan
Jun. 11, 2021
Best birthday ever!

We were in town to meet up with some cherished friends we have missed this past year and to celebrate my husband’s birthday. Chef Ed provided the absolute best birthday experience ever. The food was amazing (especially the quail with chorizo and the lamb chops), and Ed was just a delight. He took care of every detail in preparation and serving and cleaned up every crumb when he was finished. He was professional, efficient and personable. I hope we get the opportunity to have Chef Ed cook for us again. Did I mention the food was amazing?! Seriously….

Craig Keisler
Craig Keisler
May. 24, 2021
Great food, experience, and chef

Chef Ed did a great job catering to our celebration! He adjusted schedule, meal details to accommodate a gluten free guest, and did so while giving us a great, relaxing meal at our vacation home. Would highly recommend!

Katy McConnell
Katy McConnell
Apr. 23, 2021
Best Bachelorette Dinner Ever!

Chef Ed was the best host for our rowdy bachelorette group and he made the night so memorable and fun!! Dinner was absolutely delicious and he even came 30 minutes early to teach us how to make a specialty southern cocktail. The night was a blast, thanks Chef Ed!!!

Elliott Nix
Elliott Nix
Apr. 12, 2021

Chef Ed was excellent and the food was amazing. He brought along Chef Drew who made shirley temple’s for the kids that got equally rave reviews. Highly recommend the steak as well as the crab soup

Tina Kurzner
Tina Kurzner
Dec. 23, 2020
Excellent all around!

Fun, delicious, highly recommend!

Kathy Stockslager
Kathy Stockslager
Dec. 6, 2020
Great night with a great chef

The meal was awesome from soup to dessert. We had lots of fun conversation with the chef. The surf and turf was so delicious. Ed’s chocolate cake was to die for! Thanks for making such a wonderful dinner for our Clemson game gathering.
The STOCKSLAGER Family

Barbara Propst
Barbara Propst
Nov. 6, 2020

Excellent Experience!! In planning my best friend’s special birthday, the request was for a chef to come in for a special dinner. If you are thinking about using a chef for your special occasion, you have found the perfect solution with Chef Ed! There was not a morsel that didn’t touch the soul! The food was amazing! Ed is such a delight to work with and did not miss a beat from reviewing the menu to executing a beautifully flawless meal that everyone enjoyed! Clean up was wonderful as he took care of that too!! Needless to say, I will use him again when we return to Kiawah Island, SC. Thank you Ed!

Daniel Leonard
Daniel Leonard
Sep. 22, 2020
Chef Ed rocks!

Chef Ed recently came to our vacation rental and cooked a low country menu for my wife’s 50th. Everything was fun, fresh, and delicious. Every guest was thoroughly delighted and impressed. Highly recommend!

Noelle McLaughlin
Noelle McLaughlin
Sep. 3, 2020

These guys were fabulous. They let me book a two entree meal for six last minute… only two days before my event! Chef Ed’s food was wonderful. Despite being stuffed, we still ate every bite served. Every course was delicious. Would recommend to anyone!

Jackie Schultz
Jackie Schultz
Aug. 13, 2020

Ed cooked for our family for my mom’s 60th birthday. We had the mahi mahi, crab salad, crab cakes, skewers and banana foster. The food was absolutely delicious. Ed and the assistant were wonderful, very kind, professional and organized. They arrived promptly on time, had no trouble getting to know the space, courses were served with just enough time in between and they had everything cleaned spic and span before they left. I would definitely recommended Ed and would hire him again the next time we’re in town!!

laurie zebrowski
laurie zebrowski
Aug. 10, 2020
Southern Hospitality brought to your home

It’s so stressful on “check in day” at the beach. Although I brought most of hour food from home, I didn’t want to worry about dinner after driving to Seabrook Island and unpacking. Chef Ed was professional and engaging. We added ceviche to our menu. He also made quiche for us to have for brunch the next day. The food was fabulous and experience was relaxing and we felt very pampered. Chef Ed brought his own “leftover containers” which was a very appreciated touch.

Becky Brandyberry
Becky Brandyberry
Jul. 20, 2020

Chef Ed Renken prepared a fantastic appetizer and dinner for our group of ladies for a surprise 40th birthday dinner. He made excellent modifications to accommodate a dairy-free diner and a gluten-free diner in the group. He was also extremely professional, timely, and quick to clean up when he finished. The food and experience was phenomenal and we would hire him again in a heart beat!

Lisa Woynerowski
Lisa Woynerowski
Jun. 22, 2020
SPECTACULAR MEALS

We had Chef Ed twice during our vacation in Seabrook and he was simply outstanding! From his unbelievable fresh fish to the most tender filet I’ve ever eaten, his meals were truly amazing. He is also such a charming and charismatic Chef that you feel like you have known him for years! Given the COVID 19 situation, it was so nice to have a 5 star meal in the comfort of our home. What a fabulous experience!

Lisa Woynerowski
Lisa Woynerowski
Jun. 22, 2020
SPECTACULAR MEALS!

We had Chef Ed twice during our vacation in Seabrook and he was simply outstanding! From his unbelievable fresh fish to the most tender filet I’ve ever eaten, his meals were truly amazing. He is also such a charming and charismatic Chef that you feel like you have known him for years! Given the COVID 19 situation, it was so nice to have a 5 star meal in the comfort of our home. What a fabulous experience!

S H
S H
Mar. 14, 2020

Make sure you arrive hungry! Great meal from start to finish. Chef Ed cooked Tuna Tartare, French Onion Soup, Filet Mignon, Lobster and Mint Julep Panna Cotta. Beautifully plated and large portions. The French Onion Soup was the best. Wonderfully accommodating to people with allergies. He even washed the dishes and put them away.Thank you Chef Ed.

Pati Allen
Pati Allen
Oct. 25, 2019
Fine Dining For Two

Our at home fine dining experience was a gift from our children. Just me and my husband with a delightful meal prepared for us in the comfort of our own home. Chef Ed Renken arrived promptly at the requested time. He and his assistant were friendly, efficient, and professional. We went all-in with a meal including soup, salad, appetizer, and entrée. Everything was top quality; the lobster bisque was delicious and soothing, the appetizer (seared scallops) was perfectly done – cooked just to the peak of perfection! The entrée was amazing – a beautiful beef filet (again, perfectly done medium rare as requested), with stone crab and a lemon mustard aioli. The creamed spinach was the best I have ever tasted and the potato puree had just a perfect hint of horseradish. We would highly recommend Chef Renken and Food Fire + Knives for a quality, at-home dining experience!

Jennifer McManus
Jennifer McManus
Oct. 20, 2019
Chef Ed Rocks!

We hired Chef Ed for our bachelorette party and it was the highlight of our weekend! He came with a helper (Helen) who was so sweet and accommodating. We did the southern fried chicken meal and it was so amazing. Our Airbnb has the tiniest kitchen and minimal plates – he went above and beyond to make the presentation perfect for 9 tipsy girls. Highly highly recommend!!!

Camille Orme
Camille Orme
Jul. 28, 2019
Outstanding Food & A Great Tableside Manner!

Ed cooked for our group of 11 adults. Every dish was better than the last, from the (low carb) riff on panzanella salad, to the artichokes to the main dish (a fantastic bolognese!), not to mention the tiramisu-inspired panna cotta. Truly an inventive chef, and a real joy to chat with. I highly recommend Ed!

Deborah Stanley
Deborah Stanley
Jun. 16, 2019

We really enjoyed our experience with Food Fire + Knives. Chef Ed prepared a wonderful meal that matched perfectly with our Pinot Noir wine tasting. He made some fans of lima beans that did not like them before – including me. He pulled all this off with just a few days notice since we had a mix-up with our reservation. Both he and Michael were a pleasure to work with. We would definitely use them again.

Michael White
Michael White
Apr. 10, 2019

It was a great evening! Ed and Drew were fantastic! They made the night so fun and the food was superb. Recommend this as a great way to have a wonderful meal.

Feb. 16, 2019

My expectations were far exceeded. Our chef Ed was punctual, polite, and engaging. Starting conversations with him were very easy and when my girlfriend and I wanted time to enjoy each other, he let us be. The food!! The food was amazing. We had the surf and turf and let me tell you. I’ve never had steak and lobster so good. My girlfriend is a very picky eater and even she ate all her food. All in all, it was an amazing experience and I would recommend them to anyone.

Samantha Marzullo
Samantha Marzullo
Jan. 22, 2019

Great food and great guys!!! Would highly recommend food fire and knives. We are on vacation and they came to our rental, brought everything and cleaned up.

Jennifer West
Jennifer West
Jul. 14, 2022
Excellent dinner!!

We enjoyed our South of Broad meal the food was excellent!! Ed had everything prepped in advanced and was very efficient getting food served. It was delicious but very filling so make sure you are hungry!!


How to Hire a Private Chef for Your Event

  • Pick a place, date, and time.
  • Select your chef and menu. (Each chef offers different menus which are fully a la carte. Simply choose the dishes you want for your occasion.)
  • Add details like the number of guests and any special instructions.
  • Pay for your reservation. Make any changes or even cancel up to a week before your event for a refund.
  • After you’ve made a reservation, the private chef you’ve hired will reach out within 48 hours to confirm the details and coordinate their arrival.
  • If you’ve added any special dietary restrictions or event instructions, they’ll work with you to implement those.
  • Your chef will arrive with everything they need, including ingredients, cooking equipment, and cleaning supplies. All you have to do is sit back, relax, and enjoy the day with your guests.
  • The cleanup is included too! Hire a private chef with us and know that we’ll likely leave your kitchen cleaner than when you gave it to us.

Our Top FAQs

1. Can I customize the menu?

Absolutely! All our menus are fully a la carte. Once you’ve decided on a chef, you’ll see a list of all the dishes they offer and you can choose the ones you’d like for your event.

2. How is your service priced?

You pay a fixed price per guest based on your menu, plus a small, all-inclusive booking fee to our platform. You’ll be able to see exactly what you’re paying when you make a booking. No hidden costs, ever.

3. How many guests can I invite?

As many as you like! Although for events with over 30 people, we ask that you reach out to us to make an event inquiry.

4. My group has multiple dietary restrictions

That’s absolutely fine! When finalizing your menu, please mention these under ‘Special Instructions.’ For instance, you can specify that you’d like to accommodate one vegan guest and one gluten-free guest for your at-home catering and your private chef will prepare suitable dish variants for those guests.

5. Can I make changes to the menu or guest list?

Yes! You can make any changes to your booking. You can even cancel it up to a week before your event, and you’ll receive a refund.

6. Is my event insured?

Yes, it is. Our service includes full insurance for your private chef in case of any mishaps.

7. How are the Chefs chosen?

Each chef is fully vetted. We require at minimum one year of sous chef experience. Your chef has gone through an FCRA compliant background check and multiple interviews before joining our platform.

8. What is FFKs cancellation and refund policy?

We take pre-payment to secure your chef and simplify our service. No fumbling with payments after your event or dealing with multiple payments in different stages of the process. Much like our service, our return policy is simple and meant to protect you, our hosts and our amazing Chefs.
  • One week or more before your event we guarantee your refund.
  • During the week of your event we offer a 50% refund.
  • We will not be able to refund within 48 hours of your event. At this point your chef has not been available for other parties and has already planned for your event. *Please note all refunds are less processing and booking fees